Omega Writers

CALEB 2024 Shortlist Announced

We are thrilled to announce the CALEB 2024 Shortlist for the CALEB Prize, celebrating the best in Christian fiction and nonfiction from Australia and New Zealand. 

We had almost 50 entries across four categories this year, with so many wonderful books. We typically have three finalists in each category, but this year we have four finalists in the Early Reader/Middle Grade category due to a tie. The first-round judges have done a great job, and now it is up to our final-round judges in each category to pick our winners. 


Here is the CALEB 2024 shortlist (in alphabetical order within each category):

Early Reader/Middle Grade

– Xavier in the Meantime by Kate Gordon
– Train Trouble by Ella Shine (Cecily Paterson and Penny Reeve)
– Riz Chester – The Counterfeit Bust by R A Stephens
– Amanda Commander – The Pinky Promise by Coral Vass

Young Adult Fiction

– Living Melody by Jenny Glazebrook
– Flying Blind by Rosanne Hawke
– Immortal Mistake by Adele Jones

Adult Fiction

– Where Our Hearts Lie by Jenny Glazebrook
– Broken Spirit by Sheridan Lee
– Heart in the Clouds by Jennifer Mistmorgan


– Waiting to be Well by Angela C Millen
– SHEILA “There’s no use crying over spilt milk” by Pamela Morrison
– The Gender Revolution by Patricia Weerakoon; Robert Smith; Kamal

Winner announcement

The winners will be announced on the evening of Saturday 21 September as part of the 2024 Omega Writers Conference, Australia’s only national conference for Christian writers, which runs from 20 to 22 September at the Metro Mirage Hotel, Newport, NSW.

We have some excellent speakers lined up for the conference including bestselling US author and publisher Susan May Warren, and a variety of workshop presenters who will bring practical help and encouragement to your writing life. We encourage you to consider attending for the full conference. Day tickets are available. The Saturday day ticket includes dinner and the awards.

Find out more about the Omega Writers Conference here: